The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

By: Rose Hunter

Jun 24 2013

Category: book covers, Mexico

1 Comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:6mm
ISO:50
Shutter:1/1000 sec
Camera:KODAK P850 ZOOM DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is my post for the Next Big Thing blog hop.

What’s that, you say?

Read about it here (link).

It’s basically a series of self-interviews by writers talking about their works-in-progress or a recent work. There are ten questions to answer, you do that on your blog or on Facebook, and then tag five other writers to answer the same, or roughly the same, ten questions. I am doing it here because I no longer have my writing website. I erased it, I did, I did. OK!

I was tagged by Lynn Levin, here is her post (link), about her and Valerie Fox’s recent book, Poems for the Writing, also published by Texture Press.

So here I go!

What is the title of your book (or story, or project)?

Well that’s it above, [four paths]. And here (link).

Where did the idea come from for the book?

The idea for the book came out of my journals, what was happening in my life at the time. It all started during a day trip I took with the lion character of the book. We went to a surf beach north of where I live (in Puerto Vallarta). There isn’t an open road down to that beach; you have to park the car just off the highway and walk on a dirt track to get there. I think this was in April 2011, before the rains, and there was some kind of portentous atmosphere that interested me, which was compounded/enhanced by a certain amount of tension between this lion and me. When I got home I thought of the different things that had gone through my mind during that (about 15 minute) walk, and wrote them down. This was the original [path], which became part 1 of the book, and then I wrote three more sections and it became  [four paths]. I posted the picture that kind of “inspired” it all back then, here (link).

What genre does your book fall under?

It’s poetry.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

There are two main characters, the “lion” and the narrator.

I want to say that no one could play the lion except himself. If I had to say someone, I think Denis Leary could do it (link). The narrator, I don’t know who would play her. I should, of course.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

I don’t have the temperament to answer that type of question.

Who published it?

[four paths] was published by the lovely Texture Press (link).

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Well the poems were written in journal entries in 2011, and then I made really what I think of as the first draft out of those, when I rewrote them, pulling them out of my journal and into their own file. Maybe it took eight months although I don’t know because I was writing first, second and third drafts for some poems when others had not even “happened” yet. I never had a first draft of the whole manuscript really. I had more like, a manuscript with fourth and fifth drafts of part 1, a third draft of part 2, a second draft of part 3…. Etc.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I may have an opinion about that, but I wouldn’t want to reveal it. I think it’s up to readers to decide. I find it crippling to think about really, and then probably my opinion isn’t even accurate…. But to be very general, maybe it’s a road film of sorts–.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

The real life lion and Mexico in general, I think are the two main inspirations. Mexico is always an inspiration.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I can only cite the things that pique mine, which are the objects and land- and cityscapes, and plants and animals in the book…. Crocodiles and cranes, pufferfish, tejones, palm, banana and huanacaxtle; hurricane sunsets and orange pipe; rebar and umberglows…and lions and bears. In Mexico! Did you know? TRUE.

:)

Well that’s it from me.

Thank you Lynn, for the tag!

Now it’s over to you, my tagees. You know who you are….

One comment on “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop”

  1. i remember


Leave a Reply

